History of AFRAS Medal Winners

1982	John C. D'Ornellas Seaman		1999	Jeffrey Kihlmire Boatswain's Mate First Class
1987	Dominic L Rice Boatswain's Mate Third Class			M/V STARMAN (Cyprus-flagged)
1988	Craig E. MacLennan Boatswain's Mate First Class		2000	Timothy S. Adams Aviation Survival Technician Second Class
1989	Robert W. McIntaosh Boatswain's Mate Second Class			M/V ALICAHUE (Chilean-flagged)
1990	Scott A. Koosher Boatswain's Mate Third Class John P. Huard		2001	Michael K. Carola Boatswain's Mate Third Class
1991				M/V CHEVRON WASHINGTON (US-flagged)
	Boatswain's Mate Third Class		2002	Christopher J. D'Amelio Eric Forslund Boatswain's Mate First Class Aviation Survival Technician 1st Class
1992				(1 st)Silver Medal Henry Cleve Chandler
1993	William G. Martin Boatswain's Mate First Class			M/V TAMPA (Norwegian-flagged)
	F C + Cl 1 1		2003	
1994	F. Scott Clendenin Senior Chief Boatswain's Mate		2000	Roman D. Baligad Aviation Survival Technician Second Class
1994 1995			2000	
	Senior Chief Boatswain's Mate Mario M. Vittone	Mark J. Oglesby	2004	Aviation Survival Technician Second Class (no silver) M/V AUTOMOBIL ACE Laurence Nettles Aviation Survival Technician Third Class
1995	Senior Chief Boatswain's Mate Mario M. Vittone Aviation Survivalman Third Class Michael G. Odom	Mark J. Oglesby Boatswain's Mate First Class		Aviation Survival Technician Second Class (no silver) M/V AUTOMOBIL ACE Laurence Nettles
1995	Senior Chief Boatswain's Mate Mario M. Vittone Aviation Survivalman Third Class Michael G. Odom Aviation Survivalman First Class	Mark J. Oglesby Boatswain's Mate First Class gged) Donald K. Murray		Aviation Survival Technician Second Class (no silver) M/V AUTOMOBIL ACE Laurence Nettles Aviation Survival Technician Third Class (no silver)
1995 1996	Senior Chief Boatswain's Mate Mario M. Vittone Aviation Survivalman Third Class Michael G. Odom Aviation Survivalman First Class M/V NISSOS THERA (Greek-flag Michael C. Mille	Mark J. Oglesby Boatswain's Mate First Class gged) Donald K. Murray Aviation Survivalman 1st Class	2004	Aviation Survival Technician Second Class (no silver) M/V AUTOMOBIL ACE Laurence Nettles Aviation Survival Technician Third Class (no silver) M/T STOLT CAPABILITY Gregory Gibbons
1995 1996	Senior Chief Boatswain's Mate Mario M. Vittone Aviation Survivalman Third Class Michael G. Odom Aviation Survivalman First Class M/V NISSOS THERA (Greek-flag Michael C. Mille Aviation Survivalman First Class	Mark J. Oglesby Boatswain's Mate First Class gged) Donald K. Murray Aviation Survivalman 1st Class opine-flagged)	2004	Aviation Survival Technician Second Class (no silver) M/V AUTOMOBIL ACE Laurence Nettles Aviation Survival Technician Third Class (no silver) M/T STOLT CAPABILITY Gregory Gibbons Aviation Maintenance Technician Third Class

M/V SEA WOLF (US-flagged)

2006	George R. Lockamy Aviation Survival Technician Third Class		2012	Randall J. Rice Chief Warrant Officer	
	Toby A. Ducote			Crew of VALROSE II: Ronald Johnson, Dennis Szeba, Jim Mauk, Bill Gerdsen, Fred Jelinek	
	M/V OCEAN KING			M/V OLEANDER	
2007	Joshua H. Mitcheltree Aviation Survival Technician 2 nd Class	David Ramsey Boatswains Mate 1st Class	2013	Robert D. Emley Aviation Survival Technician 2 nd Class	
	Harold T. Robinson				
	M/V PATAGONIA		(ce	M/V HORIZON RELIANCE (ceremony took place March 2014 due to Government shutdown in Sept of 2014)	
2008	Willard Milam Aviation Survival Technician 1st Class		2014	Rachid A. Arnick Aviation Survival Technician First Class	
	Shane Taylor, Richard Liebe, Raymond Miller Jr., USCG Aux Michael Culpit (Canadian CG Auxiliary)			M/V MAIDEN VOYAGE	
	Cruise Ship NORDNORGE		2015	Christopher Leon Aviation Survival Technician Second Class	
2009	Abram A. Heller Aviation Survival Technician 2 nd Class			M/V TOHMISAN MARU (ex C.S. SUNSHINE)	
	Jeffrey R. Brooks, Edward W. Parish, William M. Shepard, Robert O. Wells, William E. Winfrey M/V PARTHENON Salvador Carire Aviation Survival Technician First Class		2016	Benjamin Cournia Aviation Survival Technician First Class	
				Mr. Patrick Porter	
2010				M/S VEENDAM	
				STATE OF MAINE (Special Award)	
	Crew of Aux Vessel AMYJULIE: Robert Paul G. Sadeck, Rodney P. Thomas	M. Joseph, Leo G. Lake, Jr.,	2017	Jacob Hylkema Boatswain's Mate Second Class	
	M/V ANDES			M/V EM CORAL	
	Kurt G. Peterson Chief Aviation Survival Technician M/V ADRIAN			M/V EASTERN CONFIDENCE & M/V ORFEAS (Special Awards)	
2011				M/S BRILLIANCE OF THE SEAS & NORWEGIAN SPIRIT Cruise Ship Humanitarian Assistance Awards	
				2.5.55 2.mp 2.5.maintain 1.65.65anaee 11.7.acas	

2018 Brendan T. Kiley Matthew W. Silvious 2021 Wallace C. Qual Aviation Survival Technician 3rd Class AST1 Boatswain's Mate First Class M/V JOANNA Gary Markle & Shelley Markle United States Coast Guard Auxiliary M/V HERCULES LEADER (Special Award) M/V ARIEL M/V HORIZON RELIANCE **CARNIVAL ELATION** Cruise Ship Humanitarian Assistance Award (Switched host from Duncan Hunter to Jason Lewis after Hunter was indicted C/S CARNIVAL ECSTASY for misspending campaign funds) Cruise Ship Humanitarian Assistance Award Michael W. Kelly 2022 2019 Adam Via Aviation Survival Technician 2nd Class Aviation Survival Technician First Class M/V GREEN LAKE M/V GENCO AUGUSTUS Robert Bohm, William Jacobs, Harvey Miller M/V NEW CENTURY M/V VENUS SPIRIT United States Coast Guard Auxiliary M/V COSTA LUMINOSA M/V ARISTOFANIZ Cruise Ship Humanitarian Assistance Award SEACOR POWER Rescue (AFRAS Special Award) 2020 Nathan E. Newberg Aviation Survival Technician First Class C/S MEIN SCHIFF 1 Cruise Ship Humanitarian Assistance Award Eric F. Young Aviation Survival Technician First Class 2023 David Flores Petty Officer Second Class Stephen L. Wyatt & Dr. Gloria Wyatt United States Coast Guard Auxiliary M/V SILVER MUNA M/V VIRTUOUS STRIKER C/S MARDI GRAS Cruise Ship Humanitarian Assistance Award (Chairman's Award)

Mr. Doug Samp, Joint Pacific Area/11th

District SAR Specialist

(Held at the Capitol Visitor Center)

(Geoff Pagel SAR Award)

Andrew C. Crowley, John D. Yowell & Timothy D. Youngern

United States Coast Guard Auxiliary

C/S ISLAND PRINCESS

Cruise Ship Humanitarian Assistance Award

(NOTE: 2020 & 2021 Awards were presented at one ceremony on Tuesday, November 2, 2021 at RHOB due to COVID)

(NOTE: 2023 & 2024 Awards were presented at one ceremony on Tuesday, April 9, 2024 at the Hart Senate Office Building due to ??)

2024 Joshua Marzilli Boatswain's Mate Second Class

Lori Barfield, John Durrer, Alfred Verdi AUXFAC ADESSO II

M/V MAYAN QUEEN IV

C/S NORWEGIAN BREAKAWAY Cruise Ship Humanitarian Assistance Award

Mr. Scott Talbot, USCG 8th Dist. SAR Program Coordinator (Geoff Pagels Award)